The Porter House was originally commissioned in 1876 by philanthropist and horticulturist, Hugh Dixson, and started life as Dixson & Sons’ grand tobacco factory. In 1891, furniture manufacturer WW Campbell & Co and famous leather merchant George Johnson & Sons leased the building, continuing its historical association with quality artisanship – a tradition The Porter House Hotel – MGallery continues to honour.

The Porter House now comprises of two buildings – the new signature MGallery Hotel that occupies the first 10 floors of the 36-storey sleek modern tower; and the original building, beautifully restored where our dine and drink destinations span five levels. More than just a hotel, The Porter House is an immersive oasis in the city.